AFPA congratulates new AFWI board appointments

The Australian Forest Products Association (AFPA) congratulates the newly appointed board for Australian Forest and Wood Innovations (AFWI). It’s terrific to see AFWI’s continued progress, particularly given AFPA’s key role in securing Commonwealth funding for the Institute ahead of the 2022 Federal Election, Acting Chief Executive Officer of AFPA, Richard Hyett said today.

Federal Minister for Forestry, The Hon Murray Watt has announced that the board will be chaired by esteemed industry leader Bob Gordon. Fellow board members include:

  • Diana Gibbs
  • Christine Briggs
  • Dr Heidi Dungey
  • Brian Farmer
  • Michael O’Connor
  • Rachael Cavanagh
  • Andrew Leighton
  • Dr Julianne O’Rielly-Wapstra
  • Andrew Wilson

“I congratulate Minister Watt on marshalling this excellent board of forestry sector professionals. We welcome the inclusion of Michael O’Connor with his incredible depth of knowledge and former AFPA chair and current director, Diana Gibbs. AFPA played an important role in the genesis of the AFWI, so it’s particularly satisfying to witness the progress,” Richard Hyett said.

“The new board will oversee all AFWI activities and expenditure, while also endorsing the strategic direction and research priorities for the organisation.

“AFPA, through our own membership and expertise will work with the AFWI to ensure well-formed research priorities and projects. Forest products sector innovation will be greatly spurred by the AFWI, the market possibilities it could help drive are truly exciting and it will help Australia’s competitiveness in our sector,” Richard Hyett concluded.


Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.