The establishment of Regional Forest Industry Hubs is a strategic measure to grow and optimise Australia’s forest industries in key geographic areas into the future. The Australian Forest Products Association (AFPA) has identified 13 geographic locations nationally (see map below) which are now at various stages ‘Hub’ status. AFPA has campaigned for all 13 Hubs to be funded at $1 million each by the Federal Government.

The Federal Government has to date provided $1 million in funding to Hubs in:

  • South West WA
  • The Green Triangle – SA and VIC
  • North and North West TAS
  • North East NSW
  • South West Slopes NSW

The Federal Government also committed to funding a further four Hubs to the tune of $1 million in 2020, including:

  • Central West NSW
  • Gippsland VIC
  • South East QLD
  • North QLD

There are four further Hubs (bringing the total to 13) that AFPA will continue to campaign for funding for. They are:

  • South TAS
  • North East VIC
  • North NT
  • South East NSW

Funded Hubs have the opportunity to determine their own strategic direction and priorities for how to grow forest industries within the specified geographic areas.

Map below: Please note the indicated regions are a guide only.

Media coverage

Green Triangle Forest Industries Hub

Launch coverage, September 2019, Channel 7 News

Launch coverage, September 2019, Adelaide Advertiser 

Launch coverage, September 2019, media release

Launch coverage, September 2019, The Border Watch