AFPA welcomes the Victorian Forest Products Association

The newly formed Victorian Forest Products Association (VFPA) has today announced 23 foundation members and elected its Interim Governing Council.


The new Association will span Victoria’s forest industry value chain including plantations, native forestry operators, sawmills and pulp and paper making.


The eight members of the Interim Governing Council are:

  • Sarah Harvie: Opal Group
  • Rob Hescock: Hancock Victorian Plantations
  • Paul Heubner: Allied Natural Wood Exports
  • Mike Lawson: SFM Environmental Solutions
  • Phil Mason: New Forests
  • Darren Sheldon: Australian Bluegum Plantations
  • Tony Price: Midway Limited
  • Owen Trumper: AKD Softwoods


The Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Forest Products Association Ross Hampton said, “Forest industries employ thousands of men and women in Victoria. At a time when so many jobs are being lost, our industries can play a big role in Victoria’s post – pandemic economic recovery if they are enabled to.”


“This new body will turbo-charge representation for all our industries and help make the case to policy makers that now more than ever our sustainable, renewable forest industries should be backed to deliver vital growth and prosperity.”


The Chair of the Victorian Association of Forest Industries inc (VAFI) Craig Dunn said, “We are entering a new era for the Victorian forest products industry.”


“VAFI has been the voice of the industry for many years. This new peak body is being formed on the strong foundation laid by VAFI through the perseverance of its members. The VFPA will bring a new approach and broader industry representation during these challenging times. VAFI will continue to operate in parallel until the VFPA is up and running to ensure a seamless transition,” Mr Dunn concluded.


You can read the original media release here: Media Release – AFPA WELCOMES THE VICTORIAN FOREST PRODUCTS ASSOCIATION


Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.