Finalists announced for 2017 national Forest Industry Innovation Awards


Finalists announced for 2017 national Forest Industry Innovation Awards

The Australian Forest Products Association (AFPA) has announced the finalists of the 2017 national Forest Industry Innovation Awards.

AFPA Chief Executive Officer Ross Hampton said he was delighted with the quality of nominations received for the prestigious inaugural awards, which will be presented at the industry’s gala dinner to be held at Parliament House on 12 September.

“I would like to thank everyone who entered the 2017 Forest Industry Innovation Awards and extend my congratulations to the six outstanding finalists of the three categories,” Mr Hampton said.

“Finalists include Hume Forests and the OneSafeGroup[1] for their contributions to Innovation in Safety (sponsored by Forest Corp NSW); SFM (Hydrowood) and AKD Softwoods for their achievements in Innovation in Business (sponsored by Visy); and Timber Communities Australia and the Timber and Building Materials Association (TABMA) for their work in Innovation in Training (sponsored by Forestworks).

“We want to reward our industries for striving to be the very best they can be in areas of business, safety and training. Our people and companies are working in the most sustainable of businesses dealing with totally renewable and biodegradable resources. Embracing new technologies, safety practices and training in this modern environment is paramount.

“Our forest product industries are incredibly modern and innovative. On a global scale, they are leading the way in adapting leading-edge technology to ensure sustainability and competitiveness. These are achievements that should be recognised and celebrated.

“As an industry at the forefront of innovation, it is fitting that we would want to recognise and celebrate these leaders at the biennial  Industry Gala Dinner which attracts about 500 industry representatives and many Members of Parliament.”

The Forest Industry Gala Dinner will be held at the Great Hall in Parliament House, Canberra on September 2017. Tickets can be purchased via the AFPA website.


[1] The OneSafeGroup is a collective of the following companies: OneFortyOne Plantations, HarvestCo, Scheidl, KC&MR Boult, Tabeel Trading, Moreland Holdings, Fennell Forestry, ISO, Reid Logging, Kettle Logging, LV Dohnt, Tasman Trading, Bonojero and Circelli.

04.08.2017 – AFPA Media Release – Finalists announced for 2017 Forestry Innovation Awards



Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.